Welcome to the OpenCities help centre. Search for what you're after, or browse the categories.
Can't find what you're looking for? Submit a support ticket and we'll be in touch.

Follow

Using page permissions

avatar of OpenCities Product Team

OpenCities Product Team

Last updated

This task can be undertaken by users with the following roles: OC Site Manager and OC System Administrator.

Page permissions are used to control who has access to certain pages or sections of the site. It can restrict who can create or edit pages from the site tree, restrict viewing access to the live site, restrict which content types can be created within sections of the site, and which workflows are applied to a page or section. 

Page permissions work within sections of your site tree, and you can either:

  • Set Child Page Permission: control access for every page below the selected page.
  • Set Current Page Permission: control who can access the current selected page.

It might be helpful to create specific roles for users in conjunction with setting page permissions. For example, you could create a role that is specific to the needs of the library content authors. You could then set this role as the only user who can create or edit pages under the library section of your site.

See how it's done

Page permissions can be complex; check out our Page Permissions: FAQs article to browse some common questions and answers.

How to set page permissions

To access the page permissions menu, and set your permissions:

  1. In the site tree, right-click on the page whose permissions you want to edit.
  2. Select Set Child Page Permission to set the permissions for pages below the selected page, or select Set Current Page Permission to set the permissions for the selected page. The permissions menu for both options will be the same.
    The Set child page permissions option in the right-click menu
  3. Set creating and editing permissions using the Access tab.
  4. Set viewing permissions from the View tab.
  5. Set content type creation permissions from the Content Types tab.
  6. Set workflow permissions from the Approval Workflows, Workflow Update or Workflow Delete tabs.
  7. Select Apply Changes to save your changes and Close Window to exit the menu.

Selecting Apply Changes will clear any previously made restrictions to the page or section. If you need to clear any previously made restrictions, select Clear Permissions or Clear all child page permissions. To see a full list of users and roles who can access or view the page, select View Full Page Access.

Set Child Pages Permission will override any existing permissions on the child pages. After you've done this, you can go back and set permissions for individual child pages. These new permissions will supersede any permissions that they've inherited from their parent page.

When setting permissions for a whole section of the site, you will need to apply both current page and child page permissions to the main page of that section. To take the library example again, to ensure that only the library content team can edit those pages, you need to Set current page permissions and Set child page permissions to the parent library page.

Access and View tabs

The Access tab controls which users and roles can create or edit the page or sections you're restricting, while the View tab restricts which users and roles can view the live pages or sections of the site. Both tabs use the same menu to manage permissions. To set access or viewing permissions:

  1. With the Permissions menu open, check Click here to customise the users for this branch of the site.
  2. Select either Deny all users except to select the users or roles you wish to allow or select Allow all users except to select users you do not wish to allow.
  3. From the Role List, select the roles you want to include. As you select roles, they will appear in the Selected Role List. To remove roles from this list, click on them again.
  4. From the User List, select the users to want to include. As you select users, they will appear in the Selected User List. To remove users from this list, click on them again. 
  5. Once you are happy with your lists, select Apply Changes to save your restrictions and Close Window to exit the permissions menu.

The View tab is used to restrict viewing access of Intranets or subsites that require a login. Additionally, you may have sections of your Intranet that can only certain departments or employees are permitted to view. Please ensure that you do not put viewing permissions on your public site. Doing so will restrict your community from accessing the site.

The access tab in page permissions

Content Types tab

The Content Types tab controls which content types can be created under a page or section. For example, you may want to restrict page creation in your site's news & media section to the OC News Article content type only or have a specific group of content types that can be used under the library section of your site. To set content type permissions:

  1. On the Content Types tab, check Click here to customise the content types for this branch of the site.
  2. Under Select the allowed content types, check all the content types you wish to include in the permissions.
  3. Once you are happy with the list, select Apply Changes to save your restrictions and Close Window to exit the permissions menu.

The content types tab in page permissions

Workflow tabs

Workflows help create a review process for content creation and are normally applied to content types. Instead, you can assign workflow stages to specific pages or sections of the site using the Workflow tabs in the permissions menu. To learn more about this, see Apply workflows in page permissions.

Once page permissions have been set, all users will still be able to see all pages in the site tree. However, they won't be able to create or update pages in that section. If a user attempts to right-click on a page they don't have permission for, they will see a notice saying 'No permission to operate'.

What else?

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful