Welcome to the OpenCities help centre. Search for what you're after, or browse the categories.
Can't find what you're looking for? Submit a support ticket and we'll be in touch.

Follow

Convert users between external and local management

avatar of Kira Hartley

Kira Hartley

Last updated

This task can be undertaken by users with the following roles: OC System Administrator.

After setting up your external user management system, you may find a reason to convert users between federated identity providers (Okta or Azure AD) and the locally managed system (OpenCities). For example, during the onboarding process, you may have created an account directly in OpenCities and then set up an external user management source, like Azure AD. When the users are synced from an external user management source, they skip users created locally in OpenCities. You can use this option to change where the user's identity is sourced from and ensure all your users are managed from a single source.

Change where a user's identity is managed

You can change where a user's identity is managed in Admin Management. Here's how to do it:

  1. From the main menu, go to More > Users > Admin Management.
  2. Select the user you want to edit from the list or use their Name or Email to search for them. 
  3. Under Source, use the dropdown menu to select how you want to manage the user. You'll be able to choose from the federated identity providers you have enabled (e.g., Okta, Azure AD ) or Local (OpenCities).
  4. Select Save to be taken back to the list of users.

User Management screen

Once you've changed a user from Local to Azure AD or Okta, that user will not be able to log in to OpenCities until the next sync for those services. These syncs regularly happen overnight.

If you need to synchronize sooner than the automatic process, you can do this manually by going to More > External User Management and selecting Sync Now. Please note that syncing manually may impact your site performance.

Once you've changed a user from Azure AD or Okta to Local, that user will temporarily lose access and be sent an automatic password reset email. The user will need to reset their password before being able to log in again.

What else?

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful